Compactivity 1

I’ve bought myself a “new” camera! For some time I’ve wanted a compact that will fit in a pocket and that I can take anywhere. Whilst having a mooch around Brighton a couple of weeks ago, I found myself in a second-hand phone shop, which also had a few cameras. And there was just the sort of thing I was after. A second-hand Samsung s1065. A dinky little compact, with some limited manual functionality. £25. Bargain! And it’s pink! Pink cameras are the best sort of cameras.

I didn’t know anything about this camera, and the shop offered no SD card, no documentation, no guarantee. I still don’t know much about it – I assume it’s a few years old. It works fine. And I’m very pleased with the pics. It will certainly do until I can afford a Fujifilm x10!

2 responses

  1. I like all three of these pictures – are you using something like an infrared effect here? Whatever you’re doing, the effect is good. I suppose the top one, with its shapes and light and shadow is my favourite. Adrian

    21 September , 2012 at 16:36

  2. Thanks Adrian. I converted the colour jpegs to black and white by using the “channel mixer” in my software. I use The Gimp (free software) but most editing software should have it. This is the standard recommended way of converting to B&W rather than simply using a “desaturate” menu option. It gives you much more flexibility.

    What you do is: set the channel mixer to “monochrome” and then adjust the individual red, green and blue channels. By lowering the blue channel and boosting the red, you get those lovely rich, dark skies. By “overdoing” it a bit, the originally blue sky goes black—which is that “infrared” feel. By overboosting the red I’ve also made it quite “noisy”, particularly the last pic, which has a lovely B&W film graininess I think.

    This technique is actually doing in software what a red filter stuck on a lens with B&W film would do. My Nikon D3000 does it in camera with red, orange, yellow and green “filter” options.

    You can happily spend hours messing around like this. (At least I can!) By choosing your individual channel levels carefully you can really make a B&W conversion come alive in a subtle way.. Or you can just jump in and really tweak them hard like I did here. 🙂

    I agree—the first image is the strongest.

    (Oh, I blurred the last image; that’s also a characteristic of infrared.)

    21 September , 2012 at 17:37

Leave a Reply

