Pip

5 responses

  1. Lovely portrait, Peter, just right for mono. I love the sheen on the ear and generally on the fur. Maybe the highlight top left ought to be subdued >>>a little<<< – it attracts the eye a little too much – what do you think? Adrian

    31 August , 2012 at 17:32

    • Thanks Adrian – it’s great to have proper constructive criticism. Yes, I think you’re right. But I can only see that now that you’ve mentioned it!

      I’m going to try to be more involved on here with people whose blogs I’m following – yourself included – rather than doing my typical “drive-by” postings 🙂

      BTW – I’m going to post some more with the particular technique in this one. Basically it’s the base layer copied to a “hard light” layer and that layer blurred. Then maybe a bit of masking to allow some unblurred details to show through – the eyes and nose in this case.

      The “hard light” layer really whacks up the contrast and blurring it gives an “Orton-type technique”. I also adjust the contrast of this layer using curves. Sometimes increasing the contrast even more, but sometimes pulling it back either in the darks or hilights.

      Best wishes.

      31 August , 2012 at 17:40

      • Peter, its excellent to hear from you, and thank you very much for your input on my Somerset Levels post.

        Especially with people I don’t know so well – which doesn’t include you! – I’m always uncertain about airing any criticism – but I do enjoy talking about images, and I’ve found that seeing so many images while blogging is making me more adept at it. I’ve had some positive feedback re the points I make, which is very gratifying!

        But I’m afraid that your explanation of your technique doesn’t mean a lot to me as I don’t use Photoshop – nearly all of the manipulation is done with Nikon’s Capture NX2, and of course Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro 2 >>> for mono, I cannot extol the latter too highly!

        Looking forward to seeing more of your work. Adrian

        31 August , 2012 at 17:52

      • I don’t use Photoshop either—I can’t afford it! I use the free software “The Gimp”. I don’t use any of the software that came with my Nikon (D3000) – I think it’s “Capture” – because the CD is for Windows (and Mac I think) but I run a Linux system. The Gimp was made for Linux but there is a Windows version available, also free. Lots of good tutorials online.

        However, most of my recent images (“Pip” is a new direction) have been done using the in camera “raw conversion” options—I’m very pleased with what comes straight out of the camera!

        I know of Silver Efex, but I reckon most of what I’ve seen can be done manually with layers and curves. 🙂 Me? Luddite?

        31 August , 2012 at 18:18

      • Nothing wrong with Ludditity, if that’s a word, provided it delivers the goods.

        You’re right, a lot of SEP’s effects can be attained via Levels and Curves and Photoshop too, but I think the thing about SEP is that it makes these effects so easily accessible, and so easily compared with the original. Good to be talking to you! Adrian

        2 September , 2012 at 08:13

Leave a Reply

