Snail and Dahlia

7 responses

  1. Hundovir, this is an image of real beauty, absolutely beautiful – and all the more so for being in black and white. And although they are only faintly glimpsed, the very subdued, blurred elements in the background serve to reinforce the sharply seen subject. Excellent! Adrian

    9 October , 2011 at 12:53

    • Thanks Adrian. I confess, I’m very pleased with it. I’m even more pleased that it seems to confirm my intuitions regarding the direction of my photography.

      I recently decided to go for a “minimal mucking about” approach. This is straight out of the D3000, except for some cropping (and there wasn’t much of that needed, coz I was in close.) I’m actually shooting very simply – this was shot in RAW with the LCD set to display a monochrome picture with red filter. I was also using spot metering and metered on one of the mid tones.

      With the D3000 you can then convert the RAW pic to a jpeg, using the red (or some other) filter settings and whatever white balance you want.

      So that’s basically what I’m doing at the mo – shoot in RAW, monitor it on the LCD with monochrome, filter and colour balance settings (AFTER the shot, that is, no “live view” on the D3000), convert to a jpeg using those settings.

      Done!

      9 October , 2011 at 18:50

      • BTW – it was a hand held shot, crouching down in my parents’ back garden early morning – no fancy staging or tripod. (Wide open lens of course.)

        9 October , 2011 at 18:54

      • Hundovir, its very good to hear from you at such length! Your work contains great beauty >>> and all I can say is “keep on doing it!!!”. I wouldn’t worry about using tripods etc – and the more so if you can get your hands on a Vibration Reduced (VR) Nikkor lens >>> to me, the end product is everything – whatever we did to get there is irrelevant. Adrian

        10 October , 2011 at 17:25

  2. Agree with Adrian. This is a remarkable photograph.

    9 October , 2011 at 16:53

  3. Thank you Graham – sorry, only just seen your comment and that it needed “approving”!

    9 October , 2011 at 19:38

  4. Oh, one other thing – I have the contrast set quite high for the RAW conversion.

    9 October , 2011 at 19:55

Leave a Reply

